Honoraria Committee

Committee Members: D. J. Hafner, V. Hayssen (Chair), C. Hice, M. C. Kalcounis-Ruppell, M. Matocq, J. Merritt, K. Nutt, D. Ribble, P. Stapp, G. Wilson

Mission:

The committee's mission is to select students to be honored for their research in Mammalogy.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee received 5 graduate manuscripts to review, which was a decrease from the 6 submissions received last year. Similarly, 4 submissions were received for the undergraduate honoraria, which was a decrease from the 6 submissions received last year.
- (2) The Honoraria Committee awarded 3 student honoraria for the 2005 Annual Meeting: the Anna M. Jackson Award (S. N. Vignieri, University of Washington), the A. Brazier Howell Award (Jeffrey E. Moore, Purdue University), and the Elmer C. Birney Award (Trina Roberts, The Field Museum). Each student will receive an honorarium of \$750.00 to attend the Annual Meeting and present their work during the Plenary Session. The Committee also awarded 3 undergraduate honoraria of \$400 each to Brandi S. Coyner (Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History), C. Miguel Pinto (Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador), Melissa N. Fowler, (California State University, Fullerton).

Action Items:

- (1) Total budget request of \$3450.
 - (A) Request of \$2250:3 * \$750 for graduate travel awards (A.M. Jackson, B. Howell, E. Birney).
 - (B) Request of \$1200: 3 * \$400 for undergraduate travel awards.

Respectfully submitted,

Virginia Hayssen, Chairperson (Vhayssen@email.smith.edu)