Merriam Award Committee

Committee Members: R. T. Bowyer, M. D. Engstrom, V. Hayssen, C. L. Hice, G. J. Kenagy (Chair), E. A. Lacey, S. C. Loeb, J. A. Randall, B. R. Riddle, W. P. Smith

Mission:

The responsibility of this committee is to solicit and evaluate nominations for the C. Hart Merriam Award and to select a recipient of the award to be announced at the annual banquet. The recipient is invited to present a plenary lecture at the meeting of the following year. As per a 1996 amendment of the originally defined award by the Board of Directors, the Merriam Award currently represents a focus on recognition for outstanding research contributions to mammalogy.

Information Items:

(1) The committee discharged its duty on schedule this year, evaluating three candidates of strong quality. The results of this year's deliberations will be announced by the chair of the committee at the annual banquet.

Action Items: None

Respectfully submitted, Jim Kenagy, Chair (kenagy@u.washington.edu)