## **Honorary Membership Committee**

**Committee Members:** B. D. Patterson (Chair), T. H. Kunz, G. Cameron, R. M. Timm, S. McLaren.

## **Mission:**

The purpose of the Honorary Membership Committee is to present credentials of potential honorary members for consideration by the membership at the Annual Members' Meeting. Honorary Membership, which is the highest honor awarded by the American Society of Mammalogists, recognizes eminent mammalogists who have rendered "distinguished service to the science of mammalogy." The Honorary Membership Committee is composed of the five most recent past presidents and is chaired by the second-most senior member of that group. The committee welcomes nominations from ASM members. Nominations may be made to any committee member.

## **Information Items:**

- (1) Honorary Membership is the highest honor awarded by the American Society of Mammalogists, and is given in recognition of distinguished service to mammalogy. The latter commonly encompasses contributions in research, in teaching and mentoring students, and cultivating the science itself. The Honorary Membership Committee is composed of the 5 most recent past presidents and is chaired by the second-most senior one.
- (2) Election as honorary member involves several steps. First, the Honorary Membership Committee considers the records of nominees, based on a letter of nomination, three supporting letters, and a CV. Nominations supported by at least four committee members are forwarded to the Board of Directors for another set of votes. Nominated individuals approved by at least 3/4s of those Board members voting are brought before the membership at the Annual Members' Meeting. ASM members may elect nominees that have been approved by the committee and Board by a voice vote following a brief presentation of their credentials. This year, the committee considered several names and forwarded two for Board approval.
- (3) Last year at the Annual Meeting in Portland, Paul Racey and Hans Kruuk were elected to Honorary Membership.
- (4) The Honorary Membership Committee welcomes nominations from the membership. Please direct nominations to the Chair.

**Action Items:** None.

Respectfully submitted, Bruce D. Patterson, Chair (bpatterson@fieldmuseum.org)