Grinnell Award Committee

Committee Members: E. Lessa, M. S. Hafner, P. Myers, D. J. Schmidly (Chair), and P. D. Sudman.

Mission:

The purpose of this committee is to solicit nominations for and select a recipient of the Joseph Grinnell Award. The Joseph Grinnell Award honors individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to education in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years.

Information Items:

(1) This year the Committee received five nominations for the Joseph Grinnell Award. The Committee unanimously and enthusiastically supported the nomination of one of the nominees and it was forwarded to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. The award will be presented at the banquet at the 2012 Annual Meeting in Reno, Nevada.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$350.00 to produce the Grinnell Award.

Respectfully submitted, David J. Schmidly, Chair (unmpres@unm.edu)