African Research Fellowship Committee

Committee Members: Jesse Alston, Terrence C. Demos, Marissa A. Dyck, Jacob Goheen, Prince Kaleme, Douglas Kamaru, Monica Lasky, Alicia V. Linzey, Molly M. McDonough, Patricia D. Moehlman, Ryan W. Norris, Link E. Olson (Chair), Safianu Rabiu, Chloé Warret Rodrigues, Robert K. Rose, Duane A. Schlitter, Matthew Snider, and Sydney R. Stephens

Mission:

The African Research Fellowship Committee grants awards to African nationals pursuing graduate degrees in the form of \$1,500 grants and online membership in the American Society of Mammalogists. Eligible students must be citizens of African countries and currently enrolled in a degree-granting graduate program.

Information Items:

- (1) In 2022, the Committee awarded grants to the following five recipients. **Ryan Forbes** (MS student, Nelson Mandela University, South Africa), **Alexandra Howard** (PhD candidate, University of the Free State, South Africa), **Raymond Owino** (MS student, University of Nairobi, Kenya), **Felaniaina Rafenoarisoa** (PhD student, University of Antananarivo, Madagascar), and **Omobayo Ghislain Zouffoun** (PhD student, University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin). More information about each recipient's research can be found on our web page.
- (2) In 2023, we received 14 eligible applications from citizens of 9 African countries enrolled in 11 institutions spanning 9 countries and 3 continents. This is significantly fewer applications than in any previous year except 2017, when 10 were received.
- (3) Risky Agwanda, Adam Ferguson, and Anne-Marie Hodge left the Committee; the Committee thanks them for their service. Douglas Kamaru—a past awardee—and Marissa A. Dyck joined the Committee.
- (4) As of 31 December 2022, the fund balance stood at \$122,518 (down from \$142,929 the previous year) and the rolling three-year average of the 4.5% interest was \$5,354, more than enough to sustain three \$1,500 awards annually from the fund's interest. Ten donations totaling \$13,502 were received in 2022; one of these—in the amount of \$6,000—was directed by the donor to be used to directly support the African Research Fund and Global South travel awards (see below). The Committee thanks these donors, especially Steve Hauschild (\$2,500), Alicia Linzey and Art Hulse (\$4,000), and two anonymous donors (\$9,000 combined donation), for helping us meet our ambitious goal of being able to sustain a minimum of three awards annually hereafter.
- (5) A co-sponsored (with the ASM International Relations Committee) symposium titled "*Recent Advances in the Conservation of African Mammals*" will be held at the joint ASM/International Mammalogical Congress (IMC) meeting in 2023. Support has been raised to fully defray expenses associated with five invited speakers, all of whom will also participate in a special

feature in the *Journal of Mammalogy*. More information and a list of speakers can be found in the IRC's Annual Report.

- (6) Through the generosity of many donors and the ASM, the ASM BOD has made available travel grants for mammalogists from the Global South (both graduate students and professionals) to attend IMC-13 and give an oral presentation or poster. Additional information and a list of awardees—7 of whom are from African countries—can be found in the IRC's Annual Report.
- (7) Along with the International Relations Committee, we have linked each participant in Information Items (5) and (6) with a meeting buddy. Each buddy is a regular ASM meeting attendee, and will offer to assist the new international participant in multiple aspects from networking to assistance in preparing presentations.
- (8) Jesse Alston has agreed to serve as ARFC Co-chair with Olson during the 2023-2024 intermeeting interval, whereafter Alston will become Chair and Olson will continue to serve as a regular committee member.

Action Items:

(1) The Committee seeks board approval to make four \$1,500 awards, each also carrying a Carol & Jim Patton Award (3-year sponsored membership). The Committee further seeks approval to make additional 2024 awards should one or more donations in \$1,500 increments be specified for such purposes (as "pass-through" donations) by the donor(s); as in past years, Committee members will pay for the associated online student memberships.

Respectfully submitted,

Link E. Olson, Chair (link.olson@alaska.edu)