Applications for Honoraria and Travel Awards

Each year the American Society of Mammalogists (ASM, recognizes the research accomplishments of its graduate and undergraduate student members with several prestigious honoraria. These awards include generous stipends to offset costs to awardees of attending the Annual Meeting in June to present their research results in the meeting’s opening Plenary Session.


In 2019 the Society will award up to four graduate student honoraria ($2000 each) and up to two undergraduate honoraria ($1200 each). Graduate honoraria are awarded to both doctoral and master’s students. Information on the awards, eligibility, and how to apply can be found on the ASM Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee webpage ( Applications will be accepted from 15 January to 15 February 2019, with awards typically announced by mid-March. Application materials should reflect the research that the student will present in their presentation at the annual meeting. Letters of recommendation must address whether the student is prepared to present their research in the Plenary Session and the student’s role in designing and conducting the research.

Travel Awards

Students and early career professionals (within 5 years of terminal degree) interested in applying for a travel award to attend the 2019 meeting in Washington, D.C., will be able to do so by submitting an abstract for consideration to a submission portal using the following link: The application process is changing this year allowing students to apply for a travel award without first having to register for the meeting. Student travel awards in 2019 are $500 each and early career professional awards are $750. Abstracts must be submitted to the Travel Award website by 11:59PM on 8 March 2019 to be considered for one of the travel awards. Abstracts submitted for consideration for a Travel Award must follow the formatting requirements for the conference found on the conference website: Please be aware that you will also need to submit your abstract and register for the meetings on the meeting website:

Only current members of ASM are eligible for both the honoraria and the travel awards.

Please contact the Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee Chair (Dr. Liz Flaherty, with any questions or concerns.