#### **Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee**

Committee Members: V. Bennett, C. Day, A. Dechner-Sierra, L. Dizney, E. Flaherty (Chair), V. Hayssen, A. Hope, K. Lucia-Simmons, M. Martin, M. Pardi, T. Roberts, D. Rowsey, K. Stanchak, R. Stephens, K. Thorington, J. Willoughby

#### Mission:

The Committee's mission is to select graduate and undergraduate students to be honored for their research in mammalogy, and to select travel grant recipients for undergraduate, graduate, and early-career travel awards.

#### **Information Items:**

- (1) The Committee welcomed 0 new members this year and lost 2 members.
- (2) From 7 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee awarded four graduate honoraria, each for \$2,000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to **Ben Wiens** (Kansas State University); the Elmer C. Birney Award to **Miranda Crowell** (University of Nevada, Reno); the A. Brazier Howell Award to **Carson Hedberg** (University of New Mexico), and the Annie M. Alexander Award to **Elizabeth Agpalo** (Texas Christian University).
- (3) From 4 applications, the Committee awarded 2 undergraduate honoraria of \$1,200. The awardees were **Victoria Aguilar-Hererra** (Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León) and **Austin Nash** (University of Colorado). **Tommy Herrera** (Kansas State University) was recognized with an honorable mention.

The table below summarizes the recent history of honoraria applications, revealing the high inter-annual variability in the number of applications:

Year	Undergraduate	Masters	Ph.D.	Total Graduate
2009	6	0	3	3
2010 <sup>a</sup>	2	0	5	5
2011	9	2	12	14
2012	1	1	9	10
$2013^{b}$	3	1	3	4
2014	3	0	4	4
2015	4	4	8	12
2016	3	6	12	18
2017	1	4	6	10
2018	3	4	8	12
2019	7	5	13	18
2020	7	6	5	11
2021	4	3	4	7

# <sup>a</sup>first year of shorter GRAD application <sup>b</sup>first year of Alexander (MS) Award

- (4) We again were very pleased with the number and quality of applications in 2021 and will continue our efforts to advertise and promote the Honoraria program widely using multiple communication platforms, including social media. Sean Maher, the Informatics Committee Chair, has continued to help improve the committee's webpage and with Honoraria application submission, and we will continue to update it to provide clear instructions to applicants and to streamline the online submission process. We also extend special thanks to Cody Thompson, Program Committee Chair, and Kerrell Dunsmore with The Next Great Event, for significant help with advertising these opportunities.
- (5) Based on feedback from the 2018 Board of Directors Meeting in Manhattan, KS, we continued to use a Qualtrics form for abstract submission. The current abstract submission process allowed students and early career applicants to apply for a travel award without having to pay for registration. The primary reasons behind the changes were to reduce the number of withdrawal reimbursements for the Program Committee and allow students to apply without potentially paying a fee to cancel their registration if they did not receive an award. Because of concerns raised in 2018 regarding unconscious/implicit bias with the review process, applicants were asked to remove names and institutions on the abstracts written in Word before committee review.
- (6) A total of 40 mammalogists submitted abstracts for evaluation for Travel Awards. This number represented a significant decrease from previous years (2020-75,2019-144, 2018-60, 2017-72,2016-53, 2015-121,2014-94, 2013-140).

Of the 40 abstracts, 33 were current members and were divided into 2 categories for evaluation: 7 early-career abstracts (20201-14, 2019-24, 2018-10, 2017-10, 2016-7, 2015-20, 2014-11, 2013-29) and 26 student abstracts (2020-61, 2019-120, 2018-50, 2017-61, 2016-43,2015-84, 2014-80, and 2013-109). Of these applicants, 2 were from students supported by past Grants-in-Aid. Each abstract was reviewed by 5 committee members primarily to judge appropriateness of the abstract for the meeting because we had fewer members apply than registration waivers to offer as travel awards this year (Appendix 2).

Last year's budget request to the Board was \$1,500 for 10 early-career travel awards (meeting registration waivers) of **\$150** each and \$2,250 for 30 student travel awards of **\$75** each.

- (7) The Committee is requesting an increase in our requested amount for the 2022 travel awards to allow students and early career mammalogists to travel to attend the 2022 meeting in Boulder, CO.
- (8) The Committee notes that in 2019, the Board of Directors discussed the idea of funding a "caregiver award" to support attendance to the Annual Meeting by colleagues who had additional challenges associated with caring for children, ageing parents, ill partners, etc. While

the Board did not vote on this in 2019, we propose adding one such award in the 2022 budget to highlight that the ASM supports participation by all members. We hope that this will grow in future years.

### **Action Items:**

**(1)** 

\$8,000	4 * \$2000 for graduate honoraria	
\$3,000	2 * \$1500 for undergraduate honoraria	
\$7,000	10* \$700 for early-career travel awards	
\$12,000	30* \$400 for student travel awards	
\$700	1* \$700 for the caregiver award	
\$30,700	Total budget	

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

## Respectfully submitted,

Liz Flaherty, Chair (eflaher@purdue.edu)

# **Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee Appendix**

Table 1. Diversity analysis of Travel Award applicants and ASM meeting attendees in 2018 and 2019. All numbers are reported

in percentages.

		Gender				I	Race/Ethnicit	y		
	Females	Males	Prefer not to say	American Indian/ Alaskan Native	Native Hawaiian/ Pacific Islander	Asian	Black/ African American	Hispanic/ Latino	Caucasian	Prefer not to say
Meeting attendees										
2018	45	54	1	1	1	4	1	10	80	3
2019	47	51	2	1	<1	3	2	12	75	7
Student meeting attendees										
2018	45	54	1	1	1	3	1	10	80	3
2019	62	36	2	1	1	6	3	12	71	5
Student travel award applicants										
2018	58	42	0	0	0	8.3	2.1	6.3	81.3	2.0
2019	64	32	4	0	0	7.4	1.9	14.8	68.5	7.4
Student travel award recipients										
2018	53	47	0	0	0	10.0	0	3.3	83.3	3.4
2019	63	35	2	0	0	6.0	2.0	16.0	66.0	10.0

## Appendix 2

Table 2. Travel Awards Recipients for 2021.

First	Last	Institution/Organization	
Early Career			
Jamile	Bubadué	Universidade Estadual Norte Fluminense	
Fraser	Combe	Kansas State University	
Patrice	Connors	Colorado Mesa University	
		American Museum of Natural History / University of	
Chris	Law	Washington	
Ian	Perkins-Taylor	New Mexico State University	
Brittany	Rogness	University of Illinois Urbana Champaign	
Jennifer	Shedden	California State University, Fullerton	
Students			
Antonia	Androski	University of New Mexico	
Kaitlyn	Berry	Cal State Fullerton	
Lyall	Blanche	Texas Christian University	
Connor	Burgin	University of New Mexico	
Abby	Burtner	University of Washington	
Olivia	Chapman	University of North Carolina at Greensboro	
Marcos	da Cruz	University of Oklahoma	
Zachery	Farrand	Northern Michigan University	
Tommy	Galfano	Kansas State University	
Tommy	Herrera	Kansas State University	
Hailey	Jacobson	NMSU	
Molly	Jones	Kansas State University	
Maya	Juman	Yale University	
Rachel	Kanaziz	Colorado State University	
Josey	King	Colorado Mesa University	
Jardón	Lizbeth	California State University - Long Beach	
Manuela	Londono-Gaviria	University of New Mexico	
Tabitha	McFarland	Colorado Mesa University	
James	McGee	Texas Christian University	
Ellen	Michels	Northern Michigan University	
		Indian Institute of Science Education and Research	
Baheerathan	Murugavel	Thiruvananthapuram (IISER TVM), India	
Troy	Muzzio	Colorado Mesa University	
Marisa	Pitts	University of Oklahoma	
Eve	Rowland	University of New Mexico	
Brittany	Schweiger	New Mexico State University	
Taylor	Velander	University of Minnesota Duluth	