Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee

Committee Members: A. Dechner-Sierra, L. Dizney, A. Edelman, E. Flaherty (Chair), A. Ford, V. Hayssen, A. Hope, K. Lucia-Simmons, M. Pardi, J. Reichard, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, J. Schieltz, K. Thorington, J. Willoughby.

Mission:

The Committee's mission is to select graduate and undergraduate students to be honored for their research in mammalogy, and to select travel grant recipients in two categories, early-career and student.

Information Items:

(1) The Committee welcomed 1 new member this year, A. Dechner-Sierra, and has not lost any members.

(2) From 12 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee awarded four graduate honoraria, each for \$2,000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to **Erin Siracusa** (University of Guelph); the Elmer C. Birney Award to **Jesyka Meléndez-Rosa** (University of California); the A. Brazier Howell Award to **Casey Day** (Purdue University), and the Annie M. Alexander Award to **Emily Beasley** (Missouri State University).

(3) From 3 applications, the Committee awarded 2 undergraduate honoraria of \$1,000. The awardees were **Sydney Stephens** (Utah State University) and **Connor Burgin** (Boise State University).

The table below summarizes the recent history of honoraria applications, revealing the increase in the number of graduate applicants, especially master's students, but also the high inter-annual variability in the number of applications:

| Year | Undergraduate | Masters | Ph.D. | Total Graduate |
|-------------------|---------------|---------|-------|----------------|
| 2008 | 2 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| 2009 | 6 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| 2010 ^a | 2 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| 2011 | 9 | 2 | 12 | 14 |
| 2012 | 1 | 1 | 9 | 10 |
| 2013 ^b | 3 | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| 2014 | 3 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| 2015 | 4 | 4 | 8 | 12 |
| 2016 | 3 | 6 | 12 | 18 |
| 2017 | 1 | 4 | 6 | 10 |
| 2018 | 3 | 4 | 8 | 12 |

^afirst year of shorter GRAD application

(4) We were very pleased with the number and quality of applications in 2018, and will continue our efforts to advertise and promote the Honoraria program widely using multiple communication platforms, including social media. Sean Maher, the Informatics Committee Chair, has continued to help improve the Committee's webpage and with Honoraria application submission, and we will continue to update it to provide clear instructions to applicants and to streamline the online submission process. We also extend special thanks to Cody Thompson, Program Committee Chair, for significant help with advertising these opportunities as well as coordination of travel awards application submissions.

(5) A total of 60 meeting attendees chose to have their abstracts evaluated for Travel Awards. This number represents a decrease from the previous year and a continued decrease from 2015 (2013-140, 2014-94, 2015-121, 2016-53, 2017-72). The 60 abstracts were divided into two categories for evaluation: early-career (10 abstracts vs. 10 in 2017, 7 in 2016, 20 in 2015, 11 in 2014 and 29 in 2013) and student abstracts (50 abstracts vs. 61 in 2017, 43 in 2016, 84 in 2015, 80 in 2014 and 109 in 2013). Of these applicants, 12 were from students supported by past Grants-in-Aid, 3 were past Fellowship winners (1 Shadle and 2 Patton), and 1 had received an Honorarium. Each abstract was reviewed by 5 committee members.

(6) Last year's budget request to the Board was \$6,300 for early-career travel awards of \$700 each (a \$100 increase from 2016) and \$12,000 for student travel awards of \$400 each. These funds will allow the Committee to give 30 awards of \$400 to students and 9 awards of \$700 to early-career professionals. The complete list of recipients (9 early-career, 30 students) will be provided to the Board in mid-April. A total of 16 recipients (27% of awardees) had previously received a grant or award from ASM, indicating that we had some success in attracting previously supported students to participate in the Annual Meeting. The final funding rate for early-career and student travel awards was 90% (9/10) and 50% (30/60), respectively.

(7) The Committee is requesting an increase in both the amount and number of the travel awards for 2019 because of the increased cost of hotels/housing at the Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Because ASM is financially bound for meeting a minimum number of room nights, encouraging a larger number of attendees will benefit the Society. We are requesting continuance of the monetary value of the graduate honoraria as last year.

Action Items:

| (1) | \$ 8,000 | 4 * \$2,000 for graduate honoraria (Jackson, Howell, Birney, Alexander) |
|-----|-----------------|---|
| | \$ 2,400 | 2 * \$1,200 for undergraduate honoraria |
| | \$ 8,500 | 10 * \$850 for early-career travel awards (TENTATIVE) |
| | <u>\$12,000</u> | 20 * \$600 for student travel awards (TENTATIVE) |
| | \$30,900 | Total budget |

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

Respectfully submitted, Liz Flaherty (<u>eflaher@purdue.edu</u>)

| First | Last | Institution/Organization | |
|--------------|-----------|--|--|
| Early Career | | 0 | |
| Erin | Baerwald | University of Regina | |
| Patrice | Connors | Weber State University | |
| Angela | Hornsby | Virginia Tech | |
| Jason | Malaney | Austin Peay State University | |
| Mariana | Nery | State University of Campinas | |
| Melissa | Pardi | Vanderbilt University | |
| Elton | Rogozi | Institute of Public Health | |
| Nathan | Upham | Yale University | |
| Elizabeth | Warburton | Ben Gurion University of the Negev | |
| | | | |
| Students | | | |
| Jaclyn | Aliperti | University of California, Davis | |
| Jesse | Alston | University of Wyoming | |
| Joshua | Barry | Pace University | |
| Allison | Brehm | The University of Maine | |
| Phoebe | Burns | University of Melbourne | |
| Vratika | Chaudhary | University of Florida | |
| Jocelyn | Colella | University of New Mexico, Museum of Southwestern Biology | |
| Stephanie | Dea | Albright College | |
| Bridgett | Downs | Texas A&M University, College Station | |
| Nicholas | Fletcher | Cornell University | |
| | Flores- | Instituto de Ecología, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de | |
| Alejandro | Manzanero | México | |
| Dana | Green | Northern Arizona University | |
| Grace | Griffiths | Northern Arizona University | |
| Brynn | Huzzen | Texas Christian University | |
| | Karasov- | | |
| Aviv | Olson | University of California, Davis | |
| Jamie | Kass | The Graduate Center, CUNY | |
| Chris | Law | UC Santa Cruz | |
| Nathaniel | Mull | Northern Arizona University | |
| Jonathan | Nations | Louisiana State University | |
| Beau | Rapier | Austin Peay State University | |
| Katie | Robertson | The Ohio State University | |
| Dakota | Rowsey | University of Minnesota | |
| Ryan | Stephens | University of New Hampshire | |

Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee Appendix

| Brian | Tanis | Oregon State University |
|--------|----------|---|
| Hannah | Walker | California State University, Long Beach |
| Lisa | Walsh | University of Michigan |
| Marie | Westover | University of New Mexico |
| Evan | Wilson | University of Wisconsin |
| Ashley | Wurth | The Ohio State University |
| Victor | Zhang | Northern Arizona University |