Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: E. F. Baerwald (Chair), J. Esselstyn, K. Everson, J. R. Goheen, J. González-Maya, K. M. Helgen, C. Jacques, T. Jung, M. Tewes, S. Wisely.

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

During the 2019 meeting, the Conservation Awards Committee made the following changes to the Awards: 1) Future nominations for the Leopold Award will be valid for two years and 2) The Hornaday award is now open to students AND early career researchers within 5 years of their terminal degree

Information Items:

(1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Hornaday Student Conservation Award. This year was extraordinary because of COVID-19, and nominations came in very late (mid-May). I the end, we received one nomination for the Leopold award and two for the Hornaday award. Each nomination was evaluated by the Committee and nominees were accepted by the Committee and forwarded to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. Because the 2020 annual meeting has been cancelled, the recipients of the 2020 Leopold and Hornaday awards will be announced as the ASM Board and Officers decide.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$4400 = \$2200 for the Leopold Award (\$300 for the plaque and \$1900 for travel costs--foreign) and \$2200 for the Hornaday (\$300 for the plaque and \$1900 for travel costs--foreign) to bring awardees to the Annual Meeting in Anchorage and pay their registration costs.

Respectfully submitted,

Erin F. Baerwald, Chair (efbaerwald@gmail.com)