Grinnell Award Committee

Committee Members: G. Feldhamer, J. Frey, D. McClearn, B. Pasch, J. Rachlow (chair), R. Terry, T. Theimer, R. Timm, P. Zollner

Mission:

The purpose of this committee is to solicit nominations for the Joseph Grinnell Award and select a nominee to forward to the ASM Board of Directors for consideration. The Joseph Grinnell Award honors individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to education in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years.

Information Items:

- (1) With approval of the ASM Board of Directors, the recipient of the 2023 Grinnell Award, Dr. Brian Arbogast, was announced during the 2023 joint ASM-IFM meeting in Anchorage, AK. Dr. Arbogast will give a plenary presentation at the 103rd meeting of the ASM in Boulder, CO, in June 2024.
- (2) During Spring 2024, the committee evaluated 2 nomination packages, selected the nominee for the 2024 Grinnell Award, and forwarded the nomination recommendation to President Smith and the ASM Board of Directors. The recipient will be announced during the closing ceremony of the 103rd annual ASM meeting.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$350.00 to produce the Grinnell Award plaque.

Respectfully submitted,

Janet Rachlow, Chair (<u>jrachlow@uidaho.edu</u>)