Grants-in-Aid Committee

Committee Members: J.R. Burger (Chair), B. Buttler, J. Colella, C.J. Conroy, M. Crowell, M. Dyck, P.W. Guiden, G.D. Hartman, V. Hayssen, A.G. Hope, C. Jacques, B. Jesmer, D.M. Kaufman, B. Kohli, H.C. Lanier, P.A. Larsen, B.S. McLean, B.R. McMillan, S.G. Mech, J. Nations, D.K. Odell, B. Pasch, A.W. Reed, K.C. Rowe, J.A. Soto-Centeno, R.K. Swihart

Mission:

The Grants-in-Aid Committee reviews applications for grants-in-aid and fellowships in mammalogy (American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship in Mammalogy, and the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship in Mammalogy) and either selects recipients for these awards or recommends recipients for these awards.

Information Items:

- (1) The committee currently has 26 members, which is down from previous years resulting in fewer reviews per GIAR proposal. In spring of 2025, Robbie Burger stepped in as committee chair, relieving Angela Hornsby of her duties. A few individuals have served for many years and are interested in rotating off, so we could use a few new members to help keep the load reasonable for all. Please contact Felisa Smith or Robbie Burger if you are interested in serving on this committee.
- (2) We received 73 Grants-in-Aid applicants (down from 80 applications 2024), but still higher than the 57 received in 2023. The 2025 budget set by the Board provides funding for 30 awards at \$2,500 each. Each committee member was asked to review and rank 16 applications. Each applicant received between 3-5 reviewer scores and optional comments from committee members. After consulting with the LAFRA / Patton / Cameron / Kaufman committees to remove double-awardees, the committee selected 30 students from 25 different institutions (26 in 2024) for support based on their average ranking. Names of the 2025 GIAR awardees are included at the end of this report.

The committee members continue to provide each applicant with some constructive comments, which were sent to the applicants upon request after receiving notification of whether their proposal was funded.

The committee continues to note some common errors in applications. Some useful clarifications were made in the instructions before the 2025 cycle. Other ideas the committee will work to implement in the near future include:

- i. Making a more concerted effort to advertise multiple times before and during the application window.
- ii. Developing a rubric or checklist to aid in both submission and evaluation of applications for the GIARs and ASM and Shadle Fellowships.
- iii. Providing examples of past successful applications (with permission from the authors).

- iv. Work with the Communications Committee to make GIAR information easier to find on the website.
- v. Incorporate formal language requiring the proposed research be in accordance with ASM's Guidelines for the use of wild mammals in research and education, and/or university IACUC mention in the application instructions.
- vi. For ASM and Shadle Fellowships, require scores and comments submitted to the chair and dispersed to members prior to annual meeting.
- (3) This year's Horner Award winner for the top-ranked GIAR proposal is Andrew Gaier of the City College of New York, City University of New York, with a grant application entitled, "Sampling mammalian communities of the Sheeprock Mountain sky-island".
- (4) The 2024 recipient of the ASM Fellowship was Carson Hedberg from University of New Mexico. The 2024 recipient of the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship was Nicole Lopez from the University of Montana.

The applications for 2025 ASM and Shadle Fellowships have been received but not yet processed. These applications will be distributed to committee members electronically and nominees will be selected during a closed session at the annual meeting in West-Lafayette. The amount of the 2025 American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship is \$20,000 and the 2025 Albert R. and Alma E. Shadle Fellowship is \$4,000.

(5) In response to the ASM Vision Committee's recommendations from 2023, we worked with Sean Mahar and the Communications Committee to set up a survey form for 2023 GIAR recipients (https://www.mammalsociety.org/form/asm-giar-survey) to provide an informal report of their activities under the grant and optionally to allow ASM to profile their work on social media. Students who completed this survey received a \$50 honorarium as allocated by the Board. They were given a 2-month response window. We will continue this for the 2024 and 2025 recipients.

Action items:

(1) 2025 Budget Request

Grants-in-Aid of Research 30 × \$2,500	\$75,000
Horner Award	\$500
ASM Fellowship	\$20,000
Banquet tickets for Grant-in-Aid recipients $15 \times \$30$	\$450
Grants-in-Aid of Research survey (2024 awardees)	\$1,800
Total Request	\$97,750

(2) We ask that the Board clarify who is tasked with determining whether a student has already received their career limit of two ASM grant awards. The GIAR, LAFRA, Cameron, Kaufman, and Patton committees are currently coordinating individually to ensure students are not double-awarded in the same year. This year, one GIAR awardee was also being considered for the (LAFRA) but declined to accept the higher award.

2025 ASM Grants-in-Aid Recipients:

1.	Andrew Gaier (Horner)	City University of New York
2.	Hannah Ashe	University of Wisconsin-Madison
3.	Mariah Schlis-Elias	University of Michigan
4.	Sarah Senese	Denver University
5.	Brian Kirz	University of Rochester
6.	Imogene Welles	University of Stony Brook
7.	Kristin Dyer	University of Oklahoma
8.	Holly Gamblin	University of Manitoba
9.	Natalie Morris	University of Arizona
10	. Zoe Leone	Chicago State University
11.	. Austin Jameson	Old Dominion University
12.	. Lexi Baca	University of New Mexico
13.	. Alyssa Semerdjian	Oregon State University
14.	. Carolina Ganci	UMass-Dartmouth
15	. Esteban Restrepo-Cortés	University of New Mexico
16	. Joshua Willems	University of New Hampshire
17.	. Nicholas Ryan	University of New Mexico
18	. Ruby Mustill	Texas A&M
19	. Serena Frazee	Oregon State
20.	. Samuel Speck	Kansas State
21.	. Kyle Martin	University of Idaho
22.	. Fiona McKibben	University of Idaho
23.	. Olivia Chapman	UNC-Greensboro
24.	. Phoebe Morris	Oregon State University
25.	. Damien Rivera	Arizona State University
26	. Katharine Walls	Vanderbilt University

University of Rhode Island

University of Wyoming

South Dakota State University

San Francisco State University

Respectively submitted,

29. Tokay Alberts

30. Renee Lile

27. Christopher Hickling28. Helen Krueger

Robbie Burger, Chair

(asm.giar@gmail.com / robbieburger@uky.edu)