Grants-in-Aid Committee

Committee Members: J.R. Burger, B. Buttler, J. Colella, C.J. Conroy, M. Crowell, M. Dyck, J.R. Goheen, P.W. Guiden, G.D. Hartman, V. Hayssen, A.G. Hope, A.D. Hornsby (Chair), C.N. Jacques, B. Jesmer, D.M. Kaufman, B. Kohli, H.C. Lanier, P.A. Larsen, B.S. McLean, B.R. McMillan, S.G. Mech, J. Nations, D.K. Odell, B. Pasch, A.W. Reed, K.C. Rowe, J.A. Soto-Centeno, and R.K. Swihart

Mission:

The Grants-in-Aid Committee reviews applications for grants-in-aid and fellowships in mammalogy (American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship in Mammalogy, and the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship in Mammalogy) and either selects recipients for these awards or recommends recipients for these awards.

Information Items:

- (1) The committee currently has 28 members which is comfortable for our current workload. A few individuals have served for many years and are interested in rotating off, so we could use a few new members to help keep the load reasonable for all. Please contact Felisa Smith or Angela Hornsby if you are interested in serving on this committee.
- (2) We received 80 applications for Grants-in-Aid in 2024, a marked improvement over the 57 received in 2023. The 2024 budget set by the Board provides funding for 36 awards at \$2,000 each. Each committee member was asked to review and rank 16 applications. After consulting with the LAFRA/Patton/Cameron/Kaufman committees to remove double-awardees, the committee selected 36 (from 26 different institutions) for support based on their average ranking. Names of the 2024 GIAR awardees are included at the end of this report.

The committee members continue to make an effort to provide each applicant with some constructive comments, which are sent to the applicants when they receive notification of whether their proposal was funded.

The committee continues to note some common errors in applications. At the 2023 annual conference in Anchorage, we discussed several clarifications and improvements to the application process that we could make to proactively address these issues. Some useful clarifications were made in the instructions before the 2024 cycle. Other ideas the committee will work to implement in the near future include:

- Making a more concerted effort to advertise multiple times before and during the application window
- Developing a rubric or checklist to aid in both submission and evaluation of applications
- Providing examples of past successful applications (with permission from the authors)
- Work with the Communications Committee to make GIAR information easier to find on the website

These challenges and ideas were also outlined in the August 2023 Committee Review solicited

by President Smith.

- (3) This year's Horner Award winner for the top-ranked GIAR proposal is Abigail McClain from George Washington University, with a grant application entitled, "The impact of social loss on the behavior and physiology of wild chimpanzees (*P. t. schweinfurthii*)."
- (4) In 2023, we received and reviewed 8 fellowship applications. The 2023 recipient of the ASM Fellowship was Connor Burgin from University of New Mexico. The 2023 recipient of the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship was Mauriel Rodriguez Curras from University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The applications for 2024 ASM and Shadle Fellowships have been received but not yet processed. These applications will be distributed to committee members electronically and nominees will be selected during a closed session at the annual meeting in Boulder. The amount of the 2024 American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship is \$20,000 and the 2024 Albert R. and Alma E. Shadle Fellowship is \$5,521.

(5) In response to the ASM Vision Committee's recommendations from 2023, we worked with Sean Mahar and the Communications Committee to set up a survey form for 2023 GIAR recipients (https://www.mammalsociety.org/form/asm-giar-survey) to provide an informal report of their activities under the grant and optionally to allow ASM to profile their work on social media. Students who complete this survey will receive a \$50 honorarium as allocated by the Board. At the time of this report, the webform is in final edits and will be promoted to the 2023 recipients soon, with a 2-month response window. Especial thanks to Sean and Christy Classi for their help setting up the survey and honorarium disbursement forms, respectively.

Action items:

(1) 2024 Budget Request

Grants-in-Aid of Research 36 × \$2,000	\$72,000
Horner Award	\$500
ASM Fellowship	\$20,000
Banquet tickets for Grant-in-Aid recipients $15 \times \$30$	\$450
Grants-in-Aid of Research survey (2024 awardees)	\$1,800
Total Request	\$94,750

(2) The guidelines on award limits are still pending a decision from the Board (per the website language below). We would also ask that the Board clarify who is tasked with determining whether a student has already received their career limit of two ASM grant awards. The GIAR,

LAFRA, Cameron, Kaufman, and Patton committees are currently coordinating individually to ensure students are not double-awarded in the same year.

"Students may apply for two research awards in a given year, but may receive only one

research award (GIAR, LAFRA, Cameron, Kaufman, or Patton). Students who receive a research award are eligible to receive a second award in subsequent years (hence, up to two awards in combination; e.g., 1 GIAR + 1 Patton; 2 GIARs, etc.); however, pending a decision by the Board, the Cameron and Kaufman awards are excluded from the 2-award limit this year (2020)." https://www.mammalsociety.org/grants

2024 ASM Grants-in-Aid Recipients:

- 1. Abigail McClain, George Washington University [Horner Award]
- 2. Katie Adler, University of California, Los Angeles
- 3. Katie Anderson, Washington State University
- 4. Angelica Bahena, Chicago State University
- 5. Madeleine Becker, Smithsonian, National Zoo & Conservation Biology Institute
- 6. Brandon Bernhardt, Kansas State University
- 7. Laura Blumensaadt, University of Montana
- 8. Emily Bogner, University of California Berkeley
- 9. Marina Casiano Ruiz, University of New Mexico
- 10. Pricilla Ceja, Cal Poly Humboldt
- 11. Joshua Cortez, University of New Mexico
- 12. Caroline Cummings, the University of Oklahoma
- 13. Alexandra DeLuca, University of North Carolina Wilmington
- 14. Sylvia Durkin, University of California, Berkeley
- 15. Holly Gamblin, University of Manitoba
- 16. Sarah Gheida, South Dakota State University
- 17. Yadav Ghimirey, University of Florida
- 18. Emilyn Gilmore, University of Oklahoma
- 19. weller Hamilton, Kyoto University
- 20. Andrew Hensley, University of Cincinnati
- 21. Alexander Hey, University of Kansas Biodiversity Institute
- 22. Nicole Lopez, University of Montana
- 23. Ellen McMullen, University of Nevada, Reno
- 24. Margaret Mercer, University of Arizona
- 25. Morgan Pierce, Arizona State University
- 26. Andre Plantinga-Kapteyn, University of North Carolina Greensboro
- 27. Luke Quarles, University at Buffalo
- 28. Esteban Restrepo-Cortes, University of New Mexico
- 29. Damien Rivera, Arizona State University
- 30. Alicia Roistacher, University of Oklahoma
- 31. Sydney Self, University of Texas at San Antonio
- 32. Basanta Sharma, Kansas State University
- 33. Stavi Tennenbaum, Princeton University
- 34. Sjoerd Vos, University of Manitoba
- 35. Claire Watersmith, University of North Carolina Wilmington
- 36. Amanda Weller, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Respectively submitted,

Angela Hornsby, Chair

(asm.giar@gmail.com / adhornsby@gmail.com)