Ombudspersons: Erika Barthelmess, Jessica Light, Marjorie Matocq, and Morty Ortega

Mission:

Members of the Office of Ombudspersons are appointed at the discretion of the President to hear and respond appropriately to complaints of unprofessional behavior by any member of the ASM at its annual meeting or in the governance of the ASM through its committee structure. All issues brought before either (or both) of the appointed individuals are resolved as discreetly as possible. The Ombudspersons are entrusted to deal with each situation as they best see fit.

Information Items:

(1) The Office continued to be active throughout 2021 and 2022, mostly via email.

(2) The Office of the Ombudsperson received no submissions regarding unprofessional conduct.

(3) The Office and the Human Diversity Committee received three nominations for the J. Mary Taylor Award, our office reviewed the candidates and selected a winner. The awardee will be announced during the annual meeting in Tucson.

(4) We will remind our ASM allies (trained in 2021) of their training in preparation for the 2022 annual meeting.

Action Items:

(1) We request funds (\$500) to continue to support the *J Mary Taylor Award for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence*.

Action items 2-4 were action items for 2021, and we would like to repeat them:

(2) In the coming year, we would like to write the committee's by-laws, in consultation with the President or BOD. The by-laws will include aspects such as: should there be a Chair of the Office of the Ombudspersons? Should there be a maximum length of service? Should there be a rotation schedule?

(3) In the coming year, we would like to discuss how to make our office work more efficiently for the society. There is some overlap between our interests and what we do with the Human Diversity Committee. Other Academic Societies have recognized the importance of diversity, inclusion, and safety issues and have elected positions within their leadership to focus on these goals.

(4) In the coming year, we should re-assess the ASM Code of Conduct and determine if any updates or changes are necessary.

(5) In the coming year, we will revise the call and the selection process for the *J Mary Taylor Award for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence*.

Respectfully submitted,

Erika Barthelmess (<u>barthelmess@stlawu.edu</u>) Jessica Light (<u>jlight2@tamu.edu</u>) Marjorie Matocq (<u>mmatocq@cabnr.unr.edu</u>) Morty Ortega (<u>morty.ortega@uconn.edu</u>)